All Local History

  • The Crown Hotel

    A visit to The Crown Hotel puts you in the heart of one of the most beautiful parts of Suffolk amidst pretty rural villages and the unspoiled coastal resorts. A fully refurbished 16th century coaching inn, The Crown is full of character and fascinating architectural detail, all set within a Read more [...]

  • Framlingham Castle

    Once a fearsome fortress, muster your courage and explore Framlingham Castle’s towering walls. It was behind these walls that Mary Tudor was proclaimed Queen of England. Discover more of Framlingham’s stories in our exhibition, walk the ramparts of the castle to enjoy its breath-taking views or taste some Tudor inspired Read more [...]

  • Unitarian Meeting House

    The Meeting House was built in 1717 by a congregation of Protestant Dissenters. The structure is a simple but beautiful brick ‘preaching box’ that reflects the Puritan origins of its congregation. The original interior arrangement was described in 1834 as having galleries on three sides (only one remains). At some Read more [...]

  • St Michaels Church

    St Michael’s is the parish church for Framlingham, and we have close links to All Saints Saxtead, an adjoining parish to the north west of our small historic market town.  The two parishes have historical links dating back to medieval times and have been a combined benefice under the patronage Read more [...]

  • United Free Church

    We are a community seeking to worship and serve God faithfully. To witness to the Good News of Jesus Christ working along with other Christians and, making full use of our resources, to express the love of God for all people through caring, ministry and outreach. The United Free Church Read more [...]

  • Mills Almshouses

    The Mills Almshouses are named for Thomas Mills who came to Fram to learn wheelwrighting as an employee of Edward Smith who then left the business to Thomas. Perhaps inspired by both the Robert Hitcham Almshouses and his faith Thomas left instructions in his will for the building of six Read more [...]

  • The Village Pump

    The Pump was one of the town’s principal water supplies and has two spouts. The higher spout filled the tall water carts that supplied outlying houses and in summer, before the coming of tarmac in 1912, sprinkled water to lay the dust on roads. The lower spout was for domestic Read more [...]